How To Make Butternut Squash Soup

Delicious Homemade, Quick and Easy Butternut Squash Soup!

Image

I remember my Nan and Mum making Butternut Squash Soup when I was younger. I always looked forward to it despite my dislike for vegetables (which I grew to love!). I decided to attempt it myself for the first time a few months ago around the same time I bought The Delicious Revolution. I always felt like because it was so tastey it would be hard work to make but to my surprise only a few ingredients are needed and the soup is done in no time at all. There are many complicated recipes online but I prefer to use the simple recipe my Mum and Nan have always used.

Ingredients (to serve around four):

  • 1 Leak (I usually use around half of a large one)
  • 1 Large Butternut Squash
  • 1 Sweet Potato
  • 1 Apple
  • Chicken stock (Knor powder stock seems to work best but cubes are just as good)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Single Cream

Method

  1. Peel the Butternut Squash and chop into cubes, do the same with the apple and sweet potato. Slice up the leak
  2. Add Butter to a large pot on the heat and just glaze the leaks ( careful not to burn them, ha ha!)
  3. Add Butternut Squash, apples and sweet potato
  4. Make the chicken stock with boiling water (I used a very large mug for this, you more or less play it by ear according to how many people you are cooking for, I’d say I use roughly 550ml of water…)
  5. Add the stock to the pot and let simmer until the Butternut Squash is soft/ cooked
  6. Add salt and pepper (as much as you think is best)
  7. Blend until smooth and thick using a hand held blender or whatever blender you’ve got (I prefer the hand held)
  8. Add single cream when it is off the heat so it doesn’t curdle (as much as you like I usually use half a pot which is around 80ml)

Hope you enjoy! Let me know if you try it and how it turns out!

Leave a comment